Shhh, I’ll Let You In On A Little Secret

I’m going to let you in on a little secret. Believe me, you’ll thank me for this one.

 

My sister let me raid her fridge the other day. I had just finished a spinning class and was STARVING. She had a packaged pre-made salad – something I never buy. But I immediately dug in. And, much to my surprise – it was really good.

 
After scarfing the whole thing down (as fast as humanly possible) I then looked to see what I had just eaten. 🙂 The salad was a Cranberry Walnut Bistro Bowl: lettuce, dried cranberries, candied walnuts, feta cheese and pita chips – all for 210 calories.

 

When you’re hungry, it’s so easy to grab the first thing you see and scarf it down. My sister had the right idea here: keep healthy, convenient, fast food where it’s easy to get to. This keeps you from grabbing the S’mores PopTarts.

 
These particular little lettuce gems are sold at Walmart. They’re in the produce section next to the pre-packaged lettuce. My local Walmart carries several different types: Chicken Ceasar, Southwest, Cobb, etc. They even have a fork inside the bowl – seriously, it’s like they eliminated every excuse you could think of. There’s no cooking, no mess, no clean up and no dirty dishes. They had me at no dirty dishes. Depending on the type of salad, they run between $2.50-$3.00. That’s cheaper than any Subway sandwich and way less calories.

 

image
During my last trip to Walmart, I bought seven Bistro Bowls. Seriously. (Side note – I carried them all without a cart. I’m sure I looked like some odd balancing salad hoarder.)

 

I told a friend about these salads and got a text saying, “these salads might change my life.” I agree.

image

These things are so easy and convenient. A lot of the time, making a salad just seems like so much work (yeah, yeah, I can be a lazy cook.) These are perfect to throw in your lunchbox to take to work, or grab for a quick meal when you just don’t want to deal with the event that is making supper.

 

When I get home from my late night workouts, sometimes I’m just too exhausted to think about cooking. These little guys are going to be the perfect thing to grab and eat.

 

I actually ate one of these for dinner last night. I had a rotisserie chicken in the fridge, so I tossed a little chicken on top of my salad and still had a filling meal under 300 calories.

 

I told you that you’d be happy to hear about this little secret. But don’t thank me for today’s little tip, thank my sister.

 
Sincerely,
The Sisterhood of the Traveling Salad Bowls

Leave a Reply

