I Can’t Stop Thinking About This

My sister texted me this picture two weeks ago and I literally haven’t stopped thinking about it since.

image

For you readers that aren’t familiar with Dewey’s Pizza – y’all are missing out. It’s a pizza chain that’s located throughout Ohio and they have literally THE BEST pizza you’ll ever eat.

Now, there’s one type in particular that has had me dreaming of mozzarella and goat cheese since I got the text: The Green Lantern.

Here’s how Dewey’s website describes the pizza: red sauce, light mozzarella cheese, minced garlic, mushrooms, goat cheese, artichokes and pesto. Yummy, right? Now, while this cheesy little guy isn’t horrible on calories (261 calories per slice) I never eat just one piece. I usually end up eating two or (gasp) three pieces. So, my dinner ends up pushing 800 calories (too high for this little girl.) So, I’ve come up with a little lower calorie version that I make at home.

I’ve put the recipe and how to make it below (I had it for dinner last night.) But before I get to it, I wanted to make an important point on this:

You Can Make Lower Calorie Versions of your Favorite Foods at Home. Guys, the thought of a life without goat cheese pizza is a very sad life for me. You already know that cooking at home can save you a TON of calories. So, if you have a restaurant food you adore, try making it at home with some lower calorie ingredients. Believe me, it can be done.

Check out some of my common unhealthy food trade-offs:

 
Wendy’s Hamburger Your Thing? I eat lean ground beef burgers (no bun) a few times a month.

 

Tacos Ring Your Bell? (Did I really just type that?) I use lean ground beef, black beans, corn and salsa inside a corn tortilla. (Or better yet, skip the tortilla and pile it on some lettuce for a taco salad.)

 

French Fries Call Your Name? Try sliced sweet potatoes in the oven with ketchup. You won’t even miss the real thing.

 

Chocolate Pie Your Top Craving? Try Light Cool Whip and Sugar Free Chocolate Jello mixed together in a graham cracker crust. (Or better yet, skip the crust and eat it like a parfait.)

 

Are these as good as the restaurant versions – sadly no. But is it close enough and worth the calorie swap – you betcha’. Try experimenting at home and I bet you can find a way to satisfy your fast food cravings with a lot less calories.

 
The whole low-calorie pizza I made last night totals only 517 calories. I ate half of mine last night making this delicious guy only 258 calories. Yep, you read that correctly.

 

So, without further ado, here is my recipe for the Low-Cal Green Lantern Pizza:

 

Low-Cal Green Lantern Pizza
Joseph’s Flax Oat Bran and Whole Wheat Lavish Bread (or you can use tortillas)
1/8 cup Pesto
7 Sliced Mushrooms
1/3 cup Finely Shredded Mozarella Cheese
2 oz Goat Cheese
1/2 cup Tomato Sauce
5 Artichoke Hearts
2 tsp Minced Garlic

Preheat oven to 400. Put bread directly on rack and cook 2-3 minutes or until it’s slightly cooked and sturdy. Remove bread and put on sheet pan. Cover the whole crust with tomato sauce. Drop dollops of pesto around the pizza crust. Add artichoke hearts, mushrooms, garlic and mozzarella cheese. Add large chunks of goat cheese on top. Bake at 400 for about 5-8 minutes or until the cheese is gooey and melty. Feel free to oooh and ahhh while you eat this – I sure do.

image
I’m certainly not a food photographer, but this guy tastes even better than it looks!

Bon appetite!

Leave a Reply

