I’m Going To Break All My Rules

 

I’m tired. My body is worn down. And I just want to eat a bunch of junk food.

 

Maybe it’s the crappy weather. Maybe it’s because I’ve overdone it recently with a strict diet/exercise. I don’t know. But I do know one thing, this little girl is “down to the bones” tired.

 

At the gym last night, my sister looked over at me and said, “You look tired. Really tired.” Now, for all you ladies out there, you know this is girl-speak for, “you look like crap.” As I looked in the mirror this morning while I was getting ready for work, I realized she was right (which may/may not have led to my purchase of some eye cream today.)

 

This isn’t the first time I’ve felt like this. I’ve been here before. At that rock-bottom, deep in your bones tired. So, how do I fix it? How do I get my fitness mojo back? This weekend, I’m going to break all of my rules.

 

I’m Gonna’ Get Fancy: I live in gym clothes. Heck, when you work out as much as I do, you’re either going to or coming from a workout. But, this weekend, I’m knocking the dust off the ‘ole high heels and curve-hugging dresses. This little gym beast is going to get all dolled up and show off the body I’ve been busting my butt for. Lipstick, mascara, high heels and a few cat calls make everyone feel better.

 

I’m Gonna’ Eat Out: I don’t eat out often. It’s hard to eat healthy, low calorie food at restaurants. It just derails my fitness goals, leaves me with a stuffed belly and a bad case of food guilt. But this weekend, I’m hitting up my favorite restaurant with the hubby — which just happens to be at a winery (coincidence…I think not.) I’m going to order good food and great wine and something gooey and chocolate for dessert.

 

Skip Morning Workouts and Sleep In: I’m not setting my alarm this weekend. No early morning runs or sunrise yoga here. This girl is sleeping in. (Well, as much as a mom of a toddler can.) I may even squeeze in a nap or too. #netflixandchill

 

image

 

When you’re hitting the gym super hard and being extra tight with your diet, you simply can’t sustain it forever. It’s going to catch up with you…..and it’s certainly caught up with me. So, instead of fighting it, I’m going to recharge my batteries.

 

My fitness rules are great to live by. They set parameters for me and help me stay focused on my goals. But one of the best tips I can give you is to listen to your body. Really listen. There comes a time that your body will let you know (in no uncertain terms) that it needs a break. As you get deeper into your fitness routine, you’ll get to know what’s normal and what’s not. Believe me, I’ve learned the hard way – If your body says stop, you should listen.

 

image

 

Now I want to make one incredibly important caveat to everything above – I am not going crazy this weekend. I’m not giving myself a free pass to eat whatever I want and raid the junk food aisle. I’m talking about one dinner out. To that point, I’m also not permanently attaching myself to the couch all weekend. I’ll still lace up the ‘ole tennis shoes for an easy jog. I am by no means saying that once you’re tired you can let everything you know about a fitness lifestyle go out the window. I’m saying to listen to your body. It will tell you when you need to take a rest. So, back off a bit and recharge. But only for a bit.

 

This weekend, I’m listening to my body. I’m going to eat and drink and sleep. My fitness rules will still be there waiting for me Monday morning…..and I guaranteed you I’ll be rested and ready to tackle them again with a vengeance.

 

Workout, REST and Repeat!

Leave a Reply

