Nationals Training Update

 

 

USS Nationals is 10 weeks and three days away (not that I’m counting or anything…)  And I’ve had a few people ask about how the training is progressing.  So, I thought I’d give you guys a little update:

 

The Weights Are Heavy:  I spend my weekdays doing cardio and normal weight lifting. Then, my Sunday afternoons are spent training Strongman implements.  That means log presses, heavy deadlifts and Atlas Stones for me.  And, let me be the first to say this – these weights for Nationals are heavy.  Don’t get me wrong, I love that these weights are challenging me and pushing me in a way that I haven’t been pushed in a while.  But, the log press weighs more than I do.  I’m deadlifting 2 ½ times my bodyweight and don’t even get me started on the Atlas Stones (the platforms are almost as tall as me.)  But, part of the fun of Nationals is the challenging weight.  If it was easy, everyone would do it.  

 

Here’s me doing some 120lbs log work. I told you it’s heavy.

 

 

Strongman Bruises:  The other day, I left Strongman training with a bloody chin, two scraped thumbs and concrete abrasions on my forearms.  (Please forgive all the bruises and band-aids when you see me in public.)  These weights push me and I’m pushing myself.  That’s an equation that’s left me a little banged up and bruised.  Which leads me to the next point….

 

 

IMG_8635

 

Strongman Hangover:  Anyone in the Strongman world knows the phenomenon that is “The Strongman Hangover.”  When you’re really training the implements hard and pushing weight, the day after Strongman training leaves you feeling like, well, you’ve been hit by that car instead of deadlifting it.  This has caused me to have to back off a little on my Monday morning cardio training and instead use the time to sleep in and recover.  One thing I’ve learned the hard way is the need to listen to your body.  So, when my body says it needs rest, I’m listening.

 

IMG_7316
Pretty much how I feel every Sunday night.  Minus the tiger.

 

Training Partners:  I’ve got some pretty remarkable girls in the gym to train Strongman with right now.  They’re all pushing themselves and that’s pushing me.  And, my awesome trainer is doing his normally awesome job of leading, pushing and teaching me so I’m continually getting better (thanks, Robby!)  And, I got some pretty fantastic news the other day: my Sister-in-Law is going to do Nationals with me!  How much fun is that?  It’s made training even more fun.  And I now have someone to text a million times a day with strongman talk. (#sorrynotsorry, Jen.) 

 

IMG_9445.JPG
No fair, Jen.  Next time I’m doing my makeup and hair before workout, too.

 

Weight:  I like to keep my body weight under 120lbs.  For my height and frame, that’s a good, healthy body weight.  But for this competition, I know I need to weigh as close to 123.4lbs (the weight cut off) on the day of weigh-in as possible.  You wouldn’t think it, but I can tell a HUGE difference in my performance with just five extra pounds on the scale. So, I’m trying to not go crazy with an overly-strict diet or too much cardio.  In this one scenario, a few extra pounds is going to be helpful. (How many times have you ever said that before??)  It’s certainly been hard to see the numbers on the scale go up and know it’s a good thing. But, I know it will help me perform better with these heavy weights and align me with my goal of competing well at Nationals.  

 

Here’s me doing some light weight deadlift work (245lbs.)

 

 

The Competitors:  I’ve seen the list of competitors in my weight class.  And there’s some really tough competition.  But, this year, I’m not Facebook stalking them and hunting down their training videos. This year, I’m going in blind.  I’m making myself as strong as I can be. Then I’m going to show up, do my best and let the chips fall where they may. Because, afterall, I can’t control anything about my competitors, but I can control everything about me.

 

IMG_8259 (1)

 

I’m Getting Excited:  I have no idea where I’ll finish this year.  Could be first, could be last.  Really, it’s a complete toss up.  But, one thing I do know, I’m getting really excited. And trophy or no trophy, it’s going to be a super fun competition and I can’t wait!(Although, just to be clear, it is a tiny bit more fun with a trophy.) 🙂

 

There’s 73 more days and counting.  That means 73 more days to train.  And you know what….June 11th will be here before I know it.

 

Nationals Bound!

Leave a Reply

