I Love Pizza – And I Found A Good (and Healthy) One…

 

I eat healthy the majority of the time.  Most days are filled with egg whites and oatmeal and strawberries.  But there are some days that I simply crave pizza.  I mean I get a hankerin’ for that ooey, gooey cheesy goodness….and let me tell you what – no egg white is going to fill that void.  
IMG_8495.PNG

 

But, with that deliciousness that is pizza, comes a big, fat greasy pile of calories.  And, unfortunately, opting for a Pizza Hut delivery isn’t exactly in my caloric budget.

 

IMG_8493
So true, Mr. Delivery Man.

 

So, I was beyond ecstatic when I found this little guy the other day in the frozen food aisle. It’s the DiGiorno Thin & Crispy Tomato, Mozzarella and Pesto Pizza.  

 

IMG_9464
Yummy.

 

 

Now, this pizza checks all the boxes of a delicious pizza for me: tomato sauce, pesto and cheese.  (You had me at pesto….) But with the box touting only 350 calories for half the pizza, I was skeptical at how this sucker was actually going to taste (Cardboard crust? Fake cheese taste? I’d rather just eat a salad.)

 

But, I made one the other night and let me tell you this – It. Was. Delicious.  

 

 

IMG_8498

 

The whole pizza is only 700 calories, meaning you can eat HALF THE PIZZA for only 350 calories.  If you were to eat half of a Papa John’s medium pepperoni pan pizza, you’d be tossing back 840 calories.  Ouch.

 

 

Pizza Type

Calories For Half of Pizza
Papa John’s Medium Pepperoni Pan Pizza

840

DiGiorno Thin & Crispy Tomato Mozzarella with Pesto Pizza

350

Calorie Savings

520

 

If you’re planning on ordering pizza this weekend, try one of these frozen DiGiorno pizzas instead and let me know what you think.

 

I’m already dreaming about the next time I make this little gem – I’m going to toss on some leftover chicken on top. And maybe a few kalamata olives.  #pizzadreamin’

 

 

IMG_8494

 

 

So, next time you’re at the grocery, go ahead, grab one of these little guys from the frozen food section in the grocery store (just be sure to leave me one….)

 

Pizza for Life!

Leave a Reply

