Taco Tuesday: Low-Cal Tacos

 

Y’all want in on a little secret….I love tacos.  Really.  And, there is a phenomenon that you may have heard about called, “Taco Tuesday.”  It may be the best invention ever.  It’s basically an excuse to eat tacos….on Tuesday.  Hence the name. 🙂 

 

IMG_8472

 

But, those tasty little tacos can add up to some serious calories.  If I were to order a Chipotle chicken soft taco (they come in a set of three) with normal toppings, it would come to a whopping 1,105 calories.  No bueno.

 

But I found a way that you can have both tacos and a rockin’ body.

 

IMG_9549

 

I scrounged around and came up with a recipe for Chicken Soft Tacos with Pineapple Avocado Salsa.  They’re delicious, they’re low calorie and you’re going to love them.  (Full recipe is on the bottom of the page.)  This is one of my go-to meals.  It’s flavorful, it’s filling, it’s easy to make, and a whole taco is only 300 calories.

 

Here’s a picture of everything you’ll need to make these little yummies:

 

IMG_8545
My cilantro has seen better days.  But it tastes just as yummy.

 

 

I start by tossing some chicken breasts in the crock pot that morning.  (Seriously, are crock pots not the best invention ever?  They’re like the lazy chef’s best friend.) Now, I’m sure you can get fancy with lots of seasonings and herbs here, but I just add in some some seasoning salt and enough water so they don’t stick to the bottom of the crock pot.  That way, if there’s any leftover chicken, I can use it to top my salad or sandwich the next day.

When I walk in the kitchen after work to the delicious smell of chicken, I just shred the chicken and I’m ready to start the tacos.

**Note: I have also used a pre-cooked rotisserie chicken instead of cooking my own chicken.  It’s a little higher in sodium. But it’s just as good and works great if you forget to turn on the crock pot. I mean, I HEAR people have done that….oops.** 🙂

 

IMG_8462

 

Salsa time! This part requires a little bit of chopping (but believe me, it’s worth it.) Chop the avocado, pineapple and onion and toss them in the bowl.  Then add the cilantro, lime juice, honey and a dash of salt – then stir that delicious goodness together.  (Side note: this salsa is so good, I’ve put it on chicken, pork, fish and even brats.)

 

IMG_9552
Salsa Heaven!

 

Now, it’s just time to assemble these little guys.  Grab your wrap (now be careful to look at the calorie counts of the wrap you choose.  Those little buggers can carry some ridiculous calories.)  I use these from Kroger. They’re only 50 calories per tortilla and they’re pretty yummy.

 

image
I get these tortillas at Kroger. These are only 50 calories.

 

Then, just add your chicken and toppings (watch the high calorie options like cheese and sour cream) and there you have it – the most delicious, low cal taco you’ve ever eaten. Your taste buds and your jeans will thank you.

 

IMG_9551
I normally top this guy with a chopped tomato or salsa.  But forgot to do that before I took a picture.

 

So, if you’re a Taco Tuesday supporter and someone who dreams of a world where tacos and bathing suits can co-exist peacefully, I highly recommend you try this recipe.  You’re gonna’ thank me for this one.

 

IMG_8474

 

So, in honor of this Taco Tuesday, I’m busting out my taco tshirt (yes, I have a taco shirt…I told you I really like tacos) and I’m having some Chicken Tacos tonight.  Hope you like them, too!

 

Lift big, eat tacos!

 

 

Chicken Soft Tacos with Avocado Pineapple Salsa

Approx Calories: 300 per taco*

Shredded Chicken Breast

1/2 cup Pineapple

1 Avocado

3 Tbsp Onion

2 Tbsp Lime Juice

1 1/2 tsp Honey

Fresh Cilantro

Whole Wheat Wraps or Tortillas

Shredded Lettuce

Shredded Cheddar Cheese

*Low Calorie Sour Cream – optional

*Diced Tomato/Salsa – optional

*Black beans – optional

Place chicken breasts in crock pot with enough water to just cover the bottom of the crock pot. Sprinkle seasoning salt on chicken breasts.  Cook on low until done.

Dice avocado, pineapple and onion.  Place in bowl.  Add chopped cilantro to taste (I like a LOT of cilantro) lime juice, honey and a dash of salt.  Stir well.

Heat wraps/tortillas according to package directions.  Add lettuce, chicken, salsa, cheese and any additional toppings.  Eat on Taco Tuesday, or Wednesday or Friday… 🙂

*300 Calories Per Taco is For:

1 Xtreme Wrap

2 1/2 oz Chicken

1/4 cup Pineapple Avocado Salsa

1/3 cup Shredded Lettuce

1 Tbsp Shredded Cheddar Cheese

Diced Tomatoes

Leave a Reply

