Hakuna Frittata: (I Made My First Frittata)

 

I love eggs. I eat a lot them (about two-three dozen a week for my little family of three.) But, oddly enough, I have never made a frittata. Until last night.

 

Here’s what I made:

 

IMG_9608
Looks yummy, right?

 

 

For those of you that don’t know, a frittata is basically a quiche without the crust and cream. And that crust and cream is what adds those sneaky calories and carbs to the quiche. So, a frittata is the perfect way to get your eggs, veggies and meat without those extra, unwanted calories (that seem to make my jeans a little tighter while I sleep….)

 

1123

 

It was kind of a last minute decision to make a frittata for dinner. I didn’t have much in the fridge but had a TON of eggs. And, the thought of scrambled eggs again was just more than I could take. So, I decided to try a frittata. I perused some recipes online for a minute to get a few ideas, then (since I didn’t want to venture to the grocery store) I just used whatever I had in the fridge to make this guy. And, not only did this eggy goodness turn out DELICIOUS, but it was low-cal, too (less than 200 calories a slice!)

 

So, being a good fitness friend, I feel like I owe it to all of you to share this little recipe. I’m definitely making it again (maybe even tonight….) The full recipe is at the bottom of the page. Without further ado, I present to you my Spinach and Bacon Frittata.

 

IMG_9609

 

I used my cast iron skillet for this recipe. It sits in my drawer in my kitchen and doesn’t normally get a whole lot of use, but it was perfect for this. I decide on bacon for the meat in my frittata because, let’s get serious, bacon and eggs are a match made in kitchen heaven. I fried up some bacon (squeezing the grease out of the bacon afterwards) then poured the grease that was in the pan out…don’t you dare cook your spinach and shallots in that leftover grease…. 🙂  Instead, just add a tiny bit of olive oil to keep it from sticking and cook the shallot and spinach together in the pan. Next, I chopped up a tomato I had in my fridge and tossed it in the pan, too.

 

image

Then it’s egg time in the Bluegrass (Kentucky is the Bluegrass State, for you non-Kentucky folk.) I lightly whisked eight eggs then poured them in the skillet, too. I tossed in a little mozzarella and cheddar cheese, then, channeling my best Bob Marley, I “Stir It Up.” That’s it. Literally, that is all the prep and assembly needed. Slide that little guy in a ridiculously hot oven and wait.

 

My sister and brother-in-law came up for dinner with us and everyone agreed – this recipe was a keeper and worth making again. (Although, I would add a little extra salt and pepper next time and possibly go a little heavier on the shallots.) But, it was delicious and my hubby even took the leftovers for lunch the next day.

 

Eggs are a fantastic, low-cal (and filling) food to add to your diet. But, you can only eat scrambled eggs so many times before it’s time to mix it up. A frittata is a great way to do just that. And, it’s kinda’ like the sangria of the egg world – you can use whatever is in your fridge to make it…..except instead of fruit and wine, it’s eggs and veggies. Next time, I’m thinking peppers, turkey sausage and goat cheese – let the experimentation begin….

 

image

 

So, next time you’re looking for a dinner option, try a frittata. Pinterest is covered with a million different variations.  Peruse the web or get creative and create your own. Whatever you decide, I bet you’ll be wearing the bumper sticker soon, too….

 

image

Peace, Love and Frittata!

 

 

Spinach Bacon Frittata

Approx 1,570 calories for the whole skillet

Approx 200 calories a slice

6 slices of thin cut bacon

1 1/2 cups finely shredded cheddar cheese

1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

5 cups fresh spinach

8 eggs

Shallot (You could substitute an onion)

Tomato

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Cook the bacon in an oven-safe skillet.  Drain all grease from the skillet and dab excess grease from bacon.  Dice shallots and tomato.  Then, add a tiny bit of olive oil in the skillet.  Cook spinach and shallots until the shallots are translucent (about five minutes or so.)

Whisk eggs just until mixed.  Add bacon, diced tomato and eggs to the skillet with the shallots and spinach.  Salt and pepper to taste.

Cook on the stove top undisturbed until the edges are set. Then transfer the skillet to the oven and bake until the top of the frittata is set.

Take that yummy, eggy goodness out of the oven, slice and dig in!

 

Leave a Reply

