How to Tie Your Shoes (You’re Doing it Wrong)

 

I have run a full marathon (that’s 26.2 miles), I’ve run several half marathons (that’s 13.1 miles.) I’ve run more 5Ks and 10Ks than I can even remember. But you know what I just found out…..I have been tying my tennis shoes wrong for 35 years.

 

The other night at the gym, one of my training partners looked over at my shoes and asked, “why don’t you use the runner’s holes?” After what must have been a dumb, confused look, she reached over and relaced my tennis shoes. I humored her, then went on with my workout.  

 

After working out with the new lace technique a few days now, there are only two words to describe this: life changing.

 

See, lacing your shoes with the runner’s holes helps to hold your foot inside the shoe and reduce blisters. Really, it’s like my shoes are giving my feet a nice, warm hug.

 

Here’s a Video of How to lace your shoes to use the runners holes. (And no, it doesn’t say anything about the bunny going around the hole….)

 

 

So, go ahead and get out your tennis shoes and relace them. It’s only going to take you about two minutes but your feet will definitely thank you.

 

Your shoes will fit better and it’ll keep you from looking like this

 

 

Happy running!

Leave a Reply

