I Don’t Want to Workout

 

My alarm went off at 5:40am yesterday.  I did NOT want to get out of bed.  I did NOT want to go to the gym.

It’s been a long week.  I’m sleepy.  And my legs are just tired.

But…I got up anyway.

 

 

FullSizeRender (7)
My 6:00am date

See, I have a standing morning spinning class that I attend.  I meet one of my girlfriends there (hi, Brandie!) and we normally slay some calories on the bike.  On a typical day, I burn around 500 calories for my spinning class. Today, I burned 320. Did I kill my workout? Nope. Did I burn more calories than I would have staying in bed?  Yep.

 

 

“Did I kill my workout today?  Nope.

Did I burn more calories than I would have staying in bed?  Yep.”

 

Guys, you can’t always be “on.”  You can’t crush every single workout.  There are times, like yesterday for me, where the best you’re going to be able to do – is to just show up.

 

Shaun T, the trainer from Insanity DVDs, has a saying during his workouts, “Dig Deeper.” I like it.  It’s just a short motivational sentence to remind you to push harder, give your workout your all.   It’s usually one that I try to think about during my workouts.  But today, there was no “Digging Deeper” for me…..it was more like, “Just Dig.” 🙂

 

IMG_1189

 

I may not have burned as many calories as I normally do yesterday morning, but guess what?  I still burned 320 calories….while my hubby (and lots of other people) were still snoozing. When you think about it that way, that’s not a bad morning at all.

 

Moral of the Story:

Moral of today’s blog is pretty simple: workout anyway. IMG_1191 There will always be a million excuses to keep you from going to the gym (groceries to buy, dishes to wash, long day at work, tired legs, can’t find matching socks….) But – go anyway.  You cannot reach your goals if you are not actively working toward them.  You may not kill your workout (as a matter of fact, there will be a lot of days you don’t kill your workout) but that’s ok.  Just the act of showing up and putting in the time will keep you in the habit and push you little by little closer to reaching your fitness goals.

 

Dig Deeper (or Sometimes, Just Dig)

 

Happy Friday!

 

IMG_1210

Leave a Reply

