For The Little Girl That Lives in My House…

Think your food choices, exercise habits and lifestyle choices are only affecting you?

Think again.

 

The other day, I went out to eat and this happened….

 

Could you see what happened there?

 

Well, a few weeks ago, I posted a blog about how I eat a salad (check it out HERE for the details and the video.)  But basically, I dip my fork in salad dressing instead of pouring it on my salad to reduce unhealthy fats and sugars.

 

I’ve never told Elinor about it.  We haven’t had a discussion on how to do it.  That little blonde-haired girl has just been quietly watching, mentally taking notes and learning from what I do….without me even knowing it.

 

You’ve heard the old saying, “Little pitchers have big ears” — so true.

 

Little pitchers have big ears. - John Heywood

 

Guys, your food choices, exercise habits and lifestyle choices are being soaked up by the little mini-mes we have running around our house.  One of the best things you can do as a parent is to teach your kids healthy habits.  And what better way to do that than by setting a good example for them to see?

 

Everyone wants to have happy, HEALTHY, kids.  Kids that can run, play and squeeze every ounce of fun out of their life instead of ones worrying with health related issues….issues that we could help stop before they even start.

 

Let your kids see you lacing up your shoes for a run.  Let them see you eating fruits and veggies.  Better yet, go for a run together and let them help cook a healthy dinner with you.  They’ll soak up everything you do….and you’ll both have a blast doing it.

 

 

Let me be the first to say – I am NOT the perfect parent.  And I am certainly not here to judge anyone’s parenting. Lord knows we’re all just muddling through this parenting thing the best we can.  But I do make it a point to teach Elinor how to incorporate fruits, veggies and exercise into her every day life.  And, today, I will encourage you to do the same thing: Make an effort to teach your kids healthy living tips – help give your child the tools they need to live a healthy, happy life.  And make sure you’re making smart choices that you want your kids to emulate — because let me tell you this, they certainly will.

 

Here’s to Healthy, Happy Kids!

 

 – Rebecca

 

PS – Can you tell what Elinor has been watching me do? Love the next generation of Strong Women. 🙂

 

 

**Click “Follow” to get the blog emailed straight to your inbox every morning**

IMG_1210

 

Leave a Reply

